8 November 2018

Winter Music 2018
A new festival for listening to and seeing music
7 and 8 December 2018, Akademie der Künste, Hanseatenweg

On 7 and 8 December 2018, the first festival in the new Winter Music series will take place at the Akademie der Künste. In the future, the two- to three-day festival of contemporary music, which also includes spatial, performative and visual elements, will present works by current members of the Music Section every two years during the winter months. The English title of the series is inspired by John Cage's work for one to twenty pianos.

Winter Music is to be curated by two members of the section respectively.
The curators decide on a theme; this can be a line-up, a particular instrument, an overarching idea or some other commonality. Accordingly, they will select pieces of music by members of the section. For example, Winter Music 2018, curated by Manos Tsangaris and Enno Poppe, features the drum as its central theme.
On 7 and 8 December, Schlagquartett Köln will play two concerts of works, among others, by Carola Bauckholt, Nicolaus A. Huber, Younghi Pagh-Paan and Dieter Schnebel, who passed away this year.

Schlagquartett Köln (Thomas Meixner, Boris Müller, Dirk Rothbrust and Achim Seyler) are known for their love of experimentation and innovative playing techniques on classic, exotic and everyday percussion instruments. On the consecutive evenings, they will also be performing with Johannes Fischer and the percussion class of the University of Music Lübeck.

The next Winter Music festival is planned for winter 2020. It is to be curated by Samir Odeh-Tamimi and Manos Tsangaris.


Friday, 07/12/2018
Nicolaus A. Huber: Barong des Meduses (2005), for three percussionists
Nicolaus A. Huber: Erosfragmente (2012), for one percussionist
Dieter Schnebel: Zeitstücke (1990), for four percussionists
Nicolaus A. Huber: Herbstfestival (1988), for four percussionists
Rebecca Saunders: Dust (2017/2018), a modular solo composition
Enno Poppe: Schrauben (2017), for 13 percussionists

Saturday, 08/12/2018
Carola Bauckholt: New work
Manos Tsangaris: Tafel 1 (Wiesers Werdetraum) (1989), for three players
Younghi Pagh-Paan: TSI-SHIN-KUT (1994), for four percussionists and electronic sounds
Mathias Spahlinger: OFF (1993), for six small drums
Vinko Globokar: Tribadabum extensif sur rythme fantôme (1981), for three percussionists, with any number of additional percussionists

Winter Music 2018
7 and 8 December 2018, 8 pm
Akademie der Künste, Hall 2, Hanseatenweg 10, 10557 Berlin
Tickets €13/7
Ticket reservations Tel. +49 (0)30 200 57-2000, ticket@adk.de 
online: www.adk.de/tickets 

Press Contact
Sabine Kolb, T 030 200 57-15 13, kolb@adk.de 

powered by webEdition CMS