17 April 2019

Akademie der Künste for Europe

More than 50 members of the Akademie take part in a projection on the façade at Pariser Platz 4

As of today, pro-Europe statements can be seen on the glass façade of the Akademie building on Pariser Platz. They were voiced by more than 50 members of the Akademie, including Ai Weiwei, Olafur Eliasson, Ulrich Matthes, Michael Verhoeven, Achim Freyer, Klaus Staeck, Jürgen Flimm, Ulrike Ottinger, Kathrin Röggla, Matthias Sauerbruch, Margarethe von Trotta and Jeanine Meerapfel. The filmed portraits and statements of artists are projected onto Pariser Platz using an LED wall. Akademie President Jeanine Meerapfel invited the international community of artists to participate in the project.
“The widespread engagement of Akademie members pleases me greatly, because it clearly expresses the Akademie der Künste's intention to commit itself to the European peace project. The wonderful alliance of 28 European countries deserves to be preserved and protected. At the same time, we are committed to an open continent for a social and just Europe”, Jeanine Meerapfel said at the start of the action.

The members' statements can also be viewed on the Akademie der Künste website (http://www.adk.de/de/news) as well as in the lobby of the Pariser Platz building.

In addition, posters from the project Vote together are installed on the façade of the Akademie. Vote together (https://votetogether.eu/) is a project initated by Akademie member Wolfgang Tillmans and the Between Bridges Foundation (www.betweenbridges.net/) that calls for active participation in the European elections. The posters display the date of the elections as well as the slogan Vote together. Vote for Europe in all 24 official languages in the EU.

The following members of the Akademie have contributed statements about Europe (in alphabetical order):
1. Hubertus von Amelunxen, cultural scientist and art historian
2. Fritz Auer, architect
3. Ai Weiwei, conceptual artist, sculptor and curator
4. Carola Bauckholt, composer, publisher, Intermedia artist
5. Volker Braun, writer
6. Winfried Brenne, architect
7. Jutta Brückner, director, author and producer of her own films
8. Ludger Brümmer, composer, video artist, acoustician
9. Victor López Cotelo, architect
10. Friedrich Dieckmann, writer and critic
11. Olafur Eliasson, installation and media artist, photographer
12. Ute Eskildsen, curator
13. Dietmar Feichtinger, architect
14. Jürgen Flimm, director, artistic director
15. Fritz Frenkler, designer
16. Achim Freyer, stage and costume designer, painter, director
17. Jochen Gerz, photo, video and action artist
18. Christian Grashof, actor
19. Erhard Grosskopf, composer
20. Birgit Hein, filmmaker and film studies specialist
21. Nele Hertling, dramaturge, theater author
22. Wulf Herzogenrath, art historian and curator
23. Markus Imhoof, director
24. Wolfgang Kohlhaase, writer, scriptwriter, director
25. Karla Kowalski, architect
26. Günter Kunert, writer and scriptwriter
27. Mark Lammert, visual artist and set designer
28. Thomas Lehr, writer
29. Hilde Léon, architect
30. Ulrike Lorenz, art historian
31. Volker Ludwig, dramatist, theatre director
32. Volkwin Marg, architect
33. Ulrich Matthes, actor, director
34. Jeanine Meerapfel, director, author of feature films and documentaries
35. Helke Misselwitz, director
36. Peter Nestler, documentary filmmaker
37. Ulrike Ottinger, director, camerawoman, photographer, scriptwriter
38. Ulrich Peltzer, writer
39. Maja S. K. Ratkje, composer and performer
40. Ian Ritchie, architect and city planner
41. Kathrin Röggla, writer
42. Michael Ruetz, photographer
43. Helke Sander, director and author
44. Matthias Sauerbruch, architect
45. Kathrin Schmidt, writer
46. Vladimír Šlapeta, architect, architectural historian
47. Mathias Spahlinger, composer
48. Klaus Staeck, graphic artist, publisher
49. Margarethe von Trotta, director, scriptwriter, actress
50. Manos Tsangaris, composer
51. Andres Veiel, author, director
52. Michael Verhoeven, director, author, actor
53. Klaus Völker, dramaturge, writer, theatre historian
54. Caspar Johannes Walter, composer, cellist and publisher