## AKADEMIE DER KÜNSTE

## **Press Release**

05/05/2018

## President Jeanine Meerapfel and Vice-President Kathrin Röggla in office for a further three years

Election results of the 51st General Assembly of Members of the Akademie der Künste

Today, 05 May 2018, the members of the Akademie der Künste re-elected film director, screenwriter and producer **Jeanine Meerapfel** as President at the General Assembly in Berlin. The Vice-President is once again writer and theatre author **Kathrin Röggla**. Both were elected to the leadership of the artists' society in 2015 and again received broad support in today's election.

The following were re-elected or newly elected to the Akademie Senate: Visual Arts Section: **Wulf Herzogenrath** (Director) and **Birgit Hein** (Deputy Director)

Architecture Section: **Matthias Sauerbruch** (Director) and **Jörn Walter** (Deputy Director)

Music Section: **Manos Tsangaris** (Director) and **Samir Odeh-Tamimi** (Deputy Director)

Literature Section: **Ulrich Peltzer** (Director) and **Kerstin Hensel** (Deputy Director)

Performing Arts Section: **Nele Hertling** (Director) and **Christian Grashof** (Deputy Director)

Film and Media Arts Section: **Thomas Heise** (Director) and **Helke Misselwitz** (Deputy Director)

Those newly elected to the Akademie Senate are Helke Misselwitz, Thomas Heise, Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Matthias Sauerbruch and Jörn Walter. Michael Bräuer and Wilfried Wang (both Architecture Section) and Enno Poppe (Music Section) as well as Michael Ruetz and Rosa von Praunheim (both Film and Media Art Section) are retiring from the Senate.

The Akademie der Künste currently has 409 international members across its six sections, namely Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts, Film and Media Art.

The term of office of the President, Vice-President, Directors and Deputy Directors is three years. According to the statutes of the Akademie, re-election is allowed twice for all offices.

For biographical information, see <a href="www.meerapfel.de">www.kathrin-roeggla.de</a> as well as in the membership database at <a href="www.adk.de">www.adk.de</a>

Press and Public Relations

Pariser Platz 4 10117 Berlin Germany T 030 200 57–15 14 F 030 200 57–15 08 presse@adk.de www.adk.de

Press contact Anette Schmitt T 030 200 57–15 09 M 0176 23298522 schmitt@adk.de