25.5.2024, 19 Uhr

Manos Tsangaris is the Akademie der Künste’s new President
Anh-Linh Ngo is the new Vice-President

Manos Tsangaris (left) and Anh-Linh Ngo (right)

At the 62nd Members’ General Assembly in Berlin on Saturday, 25 May 2024, the Akademie der Künste has elected composer Manos Tsangaris as its President and architectural publicist Anh-Linh Ngo as its Vice-President. Both were elected by a large majority.

The election of new leadership concludes the terms of Jeanine Meerapfel as Akademie President and Kathrin Röggla as Vice-President, each of whom spent nine years in office ‒ the maximum amount of terms provided for under the Akademie Statutes.

The Akademie der Künste Senate has also been elected:

Visual Arts Section: Karin Sander (director) and Arnold Dreyblatt (deputy director)
Architecture Section: HG Merz (director) and Regine Keller (deputy director)
Music Section: Carola Bauckholt (director) and Iris ter Schiphorst (deputy director)
Literature Section: Kerstin Hensel (director) and Cécile Wajsbrot (deputy director)
Performing Arts Section: Nele Hertling (director) and Mark Lammert (deputy director)

The Film and Media Arts Section has postponed its elections. The previous executive directors, Thomas Heise (director) and Helke Misselwitz (deputy director), will continue to head the offices for now.

Regine Keller (Architecture Section) and Mark Lammert (Performing Arts Section) have been elected to the Akademie Senate for the first time.

The Akademie der Künste currently has 407 international members in its six Sections: Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts, and Film and Media Arts. The term in office for all elected positions is three years. According to the Statutes, re-election is possible twice (for two more terms).

Biographical information about Manos Tsangaris is available here, and about Anh-Linh Ngo here.