6 July 2022

Festival for Electroacoustic Music and Sound Art presents artists’ response to the pandemic state of emergency

16 & 22-25 September 2022, Akademie der Künste, Hanseatenweg

The Akademie der Künste is presenting KONTAKTE, its international Festival for Electroacoustic Music and Sound Art, for the fourth time on 16 and from 22 to 25 September 2022. The festival will once again transform the Akademie building at Hanseatenweg into an experimental musical art laboratory and a place of encounter for artists, music lovers and professionals. In concerts, performances, sound installations and panels, KONTAKTE ’22 will mainly present works composed during the pandemic-induced hiatus in the cultural sector. These are immediate responses to a state of emergency and the extraordinary outcomes of explorations of personal issues. The festival is conceived and organised by the Studio for Electroacoustic Music of the Akademie der Künste.

In addition to the world premiere of an evening-length concert installation by Clemens Gadenstätter given by ensemble mosaik and Anna Hauf, the festival will also showcase new works by Johannes Kreidler, Uikyung Lee, Mario de Vega and Netta Weiser, the installation-based robot opera Nessun Dorma and a hybrid multi-site performance by the Female Laptop Orchestra. The young generation of artists will be represented with a concert by the Berlin University of the Arts and the Hanns Eisler School of Music, while at its annual concert DEGEM will stage works by its members and by Jonty Harrison, this year’s winner of the Thomas Seelig Fixed Media Prize.

KONTAKTE ’22 is funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.
The complete festival programme is available online at: www.adk.de/kontakte22 

Event details
Festival for Electroacoustic Music and Sound Art
Concerts, performances, sound installations and panels
16 & 22-25 September 2022
Akademie der Künste, Hanseatenweg 10, 10557 Berlin

Press contact
On behalf of the Akademie der Künste
Stefan Stahnke, Tel. 030 3478 1984, st@worteuebermusik.de