Berlin Art Prize 2019 Jubilee Endowment 1848/1948

Award Ceremony

This year, the Berlin Art Prize – Grand Prize, which is presented in rotation by the six Akademie Sections, is being awarded by the Architecture Section and goes to French architect Renée Gailhoustet. The prize honours her life’s work. Together with Jean Renaudie, she realised the famous terrace houses for the Parisian suburb of Ivry-sur-Seine. Her work places topics that have again become relevant today, such as densification, social housing and urban green space, in the foreground.

Other Berlin Art Prizes will be awarded in the Visual Arts to German-Lebanese artist duo Prinz Gholam, in Architecture to Danish architect Dorte Mandrup, in Music to Turkish composer Zeynep Gedizlioğlu, in Literature to writer Uljana Wolf, in the Performing Arts to actor Alexander Scheer and in Film and Media Art to director and actress Nicolette Krebitz.

The Berlin Art Prize was established in 1948 by the city administration to commemorate the March Revolution of 1848. The prizes will be presented by the Governing Mayor of Berlin, Michael Müller, and Akademie President Jeanine Meerapfel.


During the award ceremony for the Berlin Art Prize, the 2018 Will Grohmann Prize will be awarded to art critic Kolja Reichert.

Lecture by Dorte Mandrup on 19 March 2019.

Monday, 18 Mar 2019

7 pm

Pariser Platz

Plenary Hall

Award ceremony for Renée Gailhoustet, Prinz Gholam, Dorte Mandrup, Zeynep Gedizlioğlu, Uljana Wolf, Alexander Scheer and Nicolette Krebitz presented by Michael Müller and Jeanine Meerapfel

In German and English

Free admission


Tel.: (030) 200 57-1000