Joana Maria Gorvin Prize to Andrea Breth

Award Ceremony

Born in 1952, theatre and opera director Andrea Breth is one of the most brilliant in her artistic field. In her multi-award-winning productions, she „convincingly succeeds in making theatre present, anchoring the present in the past in order to also envisage the future and assert theatre as a place of dreaming“ (the jury). The celebratory program, designed by Hermann Beil with artistic guests, accentuates – from the Bochum Süden in 1987, the Artistic Direction of the Schaubühne 1992–1997, to the formative Burgtheater period up until 2018, and more – highlights of her work.

The Joana Maria Gorvin Prize of the Akademie der Künste was endowed 1995 by Maximilian B. Bauer in memory of the great actress, his wife, who died in 1993. Every five years, a jury of five artists from the Performing Arts Section honors the „outstanding achievement of a female theater artist in the Germanspeaking world.“

The 2020 jury comprised Jürgen Flimm, Christian Grashof, Volker Ludwig, Klaus Völker and Jossi Wieler.

Sunday, 5 Sep 2021

11:30 am



Laudatory address Hermann Beil

With Andrea Breth, Hermann Beil, Adam Benzwi, Nele Hertling, Corinna Kirchhoff, Roland Koch, Klaus Völker, Johanna Wokalek et al.

In German

Free admission


Tel.: (030) 200 57-1000

Further information

Joana Maria Gorvin Prize