Ellen Auerbach Scholarship for Photography

The Ellen Auerbach Scholarship is a development scholarship for young international photographers. The photographer Ellen Auerbach (1906 - 2004) endowed the scholarship as a follow-up to the Academy exhibition “Die Fotografin Ellen Auerbach” (The Photographer Ellen Auerbach) (1998). The scholarship was first awarded in 2006, on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Ellen Auerbach’s birth. It is financed by her estate.

The Ellen Auerbach scholarship holders belong to the fellowship circle of the Young Academy and are included in the annual scholarship programme. It is possible to view works by Ellen Auerbach in the Akademie der Künste Archive.

The scholarship is awarded on a biennial basis and has a value of 20,000 Euros, of which 10,000 Euro is allocated for an exhibition and a small catalogue. Personal application is not possible. The Ellen Auerbach laureates are recommended by Academy members, experts, or international curators and are selected by a members’ jury.



2006 Yto Barrada
2008 Steve Sabella
2010 Anasthasia Khoroshilova
2012 Natalie Czech
2014 Julian Röder
2016 Stephanie Kiwitt
2018 Annette Frick
2020 Ferhat Bouda
2023 Joanna Piotrowska