12 July 2019

New members of the Akademie der Künste 2019

This year, the Akademie der Künste elected 17 new members, ten of which are women, to its society of artists. The elections took place at the 53rd Members' Assembly of the Akademie der Künste (10 - 11/05) in Berlin. All newly elected members have in the meantime accepted their election. Candice Breitz, Katharina Fritsch, Nanne Meyer and Adrian Piper were elected in the Visual Arts Section. The new members of the Music Section are Annette Schmucki and Jennifer Walshe. Ulrike Draesner, Thomas Hettche, Robert Menasse, Lothar Trolle and Cécile Wajsbrot are new members of the Literature Section. Herbert Fritsch and Thomas Ostermeier are to represent the Performing Arts Section in the future. The Film and Media Arts Section has added Claudia von Alemann, Sławomir Idziak, Paul Plamper and Gundula Schulze Eldowy to its membership. The Architecture Section did not propose any new members this year. In total, the Akademie now has 428 members.

Short biographies of the new members (PDF file)