25 April 2023

Alfred Döblin Prize 2023
Day of readings and discussions with finalists on Saturday 6 May at the LCB
Award ceremony on Sunday 7 May, Akademie der Künste, Pariser Platz

The Alfred Döblin Prize, endowed with €15,000, will be awarded for the 24th time this year. The Alfred Döblin Prize, which since its founding by Günter Grass in 1979 has been awarded every two years for an unfinished prose manuscript, is organised by the Akademie der Künste and the Literarisches Colloquium Berlin. In the spirit of its founder, it commemorates Alfred Döblin as one of the most versatile German writers of the modern age.

The most recent prize winners were Deniz Utlu in 2021, Ulrich Woelk in 2019 and María Cecilia Barbetta in 2017. This year the jury selected six submissions from a total of over 600 entries. The finalists are Roman Ehrlich, Franz Friedrich, Christina Griebel, Patricia Hempel, Thomas Hettche and Jan Kuhlbrodt.

During a day of public readings and discussions held at the LCB on 6 May, the authors will be introduced by jury members Nico Bleutge, Gregor Dotzauer and Andrea Zederbauer. Participating in the public discussion of the texts are Meike Stein, Claudia Hamm, Samir Sellami, Christian Möller and Katharina Herrmann. The award ceremony will take place on Sunday 7 May at 11:30 am at the Akademie der Künste at Pariser Platz.

Event information

Saturday 6 May 2023
Literarisches Colloquium Berlin, Am Sandwerder 5, 14109 Berlin
Readings and discussions, free admission
The readings will each take approximately 15 minutes and the discussions approximately 20 minutes.
10:15 am: Welcome address
10:30 am: Roman Ehrlich
11:20 am: Christina Griebel
12:10 pm: Thomas Hettche
2:00 pm: Jan Kuhlbrodt
2:50 pm: Patricia Hempel
3:40 pm: Franz Friedrich
Followed by the jury meeting and announcement of the award winner

Sunday 7 May 2023
Akademie der Künste, Pariser Platz 4, 10117 Berlin
Award ceremony, free admission
Starting at 11:30 am
In addition to the reading from the winning manuscript and a talk with the award winner, the 2021 winner Deniz Utlu will give a speech on Alfred Döblin.