15 April 2021

Alfred Döblin Prize 2021

Day of readings and discussions with the finalists on 8 May
from 10.45 am, Live streaming at www.lcb.de

The Alfred Döblin Prize worth EUR 15,000 will be awarded for the 23rd time this year. The Alfred Döblin Prize, donated by Günter Grass in 1979 and awarded every two years for an unfinished prose manuscript, is organised by the Akademie der Künste and the Literarisches Colloquium Berlin and, in the spirit of its founder, commemorates Döblin as one of the most versatile German writers of the modern age. This year the prize is being supported by the S. Fischer Stiftung.

The most recent prize-winners were Natascha Wodin in 2015, María Cecilia Barbetta in 2017 and Ulrich Woelk in May 2019. The jury selected six submissions from almost 600 authors. The finalists are Daniela Dröscher, Ursula Fricker, Valeria Gordeev, Michael Kleeberg, Deniz Utlu and Senthuran Varatharajah.

During a day of public readings and discussion, which can be followed via live stream, the authors will be introduced by jury members Marie Schmidt, Sieglinde Geisel and Knut Elstermann.
Participating in addition to the jury in the discussions at the LCB will Jens Stupin, Martin Jankowski, Charlotte Milsch, Miryam Schellbach, Julia Kandzora, Tabea Grzeszyk, Nicole Seifert, Lara Sielmann and Yasemin Dayioglu-Yücel.
Due to the pandemic, the award ceremony will take place on Saturday at 6 pm at the LCB, and not as usual on Sunday at the Akademie der Künste.

Date of event:
Saturday, 8 May 2021

The readings will each take roughly 15 minutes and the discussions about 20 minutes.
11 am: Reading and discussion with Senthuran Varatharajah
11.45 am: Reading and discussion with Deniz Utlu
12.30 pm: Reading and discussion with Valeria Gordeev
2.30 pm: Reading and discussion with Ursula Fricker
3.15 pm: Reading and discussion with Michael Kleeberg
4 pm: Reading and discussion with Daniela Dröscher

6 pm: Award ceremony