23 July 2021

2021/2022 fellowship holders of the JUNGE AKADEMIE 

The Akademie der Künste is announcing 19 international fellowship holders who have been nominated by Akademie members and external curators for the 2021/2022 year and selected by member juries. Starting this autumn, the fellowships create an opportunity to network with members via the Akademie der Künste, to engage in creative exchange in an interdisciplinary context and to develop art projects. The young artists will present their work to the public in readings, performances, workshops and open studios.

The fellowship programmes are pooled in the JUNGE AKADEMIE, which is the international artist-in-residence programme of the Akademie der Künste and member of the ADIR. Promoting the work of young international artists is one of the Akademie's core tasks.

For the Berlin Fellowship, twelve international artists are invited each year to a three-month residency and work fellowship in the studios of the Akademie der Künste in Hanseatenweg. It is endowed with EUR 10,000 including a grant, project funding and a travel budget. The selected artists for the year 2021/2022 are: Mohammed Almughanni (Palestine, Poland / film & media art), Yannik Böhmer (Germany / performing arts), Kristina Buch & Robert Logan (Germany, UK / visual arts), Jonas Eika (Denmark / literature), Claire Fercak (France / literature), Lillah Halla (Brazil, Germany / film and media art), Fumiko Kikuchi (Japan / visual arts), Melissa Koch (Germany / architecture), Maissa Maatouk (Lebanon / architecture), Andrew Schneider (USA / performing arts), Sol-i So (Korea, Germany / music) and Oliver Thurley (UK / music).

Every year, the Villa Serpentara Fellowship enables four fellows to work in residence at the Villa Serpentara in Olevano near Rome. They are supervised in cooperation with the Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo. The three-month fellowship is endowed with EUR 4,500. The following were selected for 2022: Mark Barker (UK, Germany / visual arts), Andreas Bode (Germany / performing arts), Mina Keshavarz (Iran / film and media art) and Lukas Zerbst (Poland, Germany / visual arts).

For the second time, the JUNGE AKADEMIE, in partnership with the E.ON Foundation's artist-in-residence programme VISIT, is awarding the Human Machine Fellowship to artists who work at the interface of art and science in the human-machine field. The fellowship is endowed with EUR 20,000 and this year goes to Natasha Tontey (Indonesia / media art). See press release of 24 June 2021

The Werner Düttmann Fellowship is a cross-sectional residency and work fellowship in Berlin. It is sponsored by the Werner Düttmann family in honour of the architect of the Akademie building in Hanseatenweg and long-time president of the Akademie der Künste (1971-1983). The current holder is Selma Doborac (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Austria / director and screenwriter). See press release of 10 May 2021

Information on the artists at
www.junge-akademie.adk.de and www.adk.de/jungeakademie