20 July 2022

New members of the Akademie der Künste

The Akademie der Künste has taken in 12 new members. The elections took place at the 58th General Assembly (20 – 21 May 2022) in Berlin. All newly elected members have since accepted their election. Nikolaus Brass, Clara Iannotta and Liza Lim have been elected to the Music Section. The Film and Media Arts Section has admitted Ruth Beckermann, Sergei Loznitsa, Heidi Specogna, Maria Speth and Dunja Arnaszus. New to the Literature Section are Aris Fioretos, Jon Fosse, Dagmara Kraus and Wolfram Lotz.
The Architecture, the Visual Arts and the Performing Arts Sections did not submit any nominations for election in the plenary session. The Akademie der Künste currently has 418 members in its six art sections.

Brief biographies of the new members