6 March 2023

Presentation of Ellen Auerbach Fellowship for Photography 2023 to Joanna Piotrowska

Thursday, 9 March 2023, 7 pm, Pariser Platz

The Akademie der Künste is awarding the Ellen Auerbach Scholarship for Photography 2023 to Joanna Piotrowska. The Polish artist works with photography, film and performance. The Academy’s vice president Kathrin Röggla will give a short address welcoming Piotrowska to the award ceremony on Thursday, 9 March 2023. Curator and professor of cultural studies Hubertus von Amelunxen will give the encomium. This will be followed by a discussion between Piotrowska and curator Juliane Bischoff. Baal & Mortimer will contribute vocals and electronic music as an accompaniment to the evening’s events.

Born in Warsaw in 1985, Piotrowska currently lives and works in London. Her black-and-white gelatin silver prints and 16 mm films deal with topics like family, home, intimacy and the position of women. She shows people entangled in social systems and struggling against demonstrations of power, emotional dependencies and human violence. The jury consisted of photographers Johanna Diehl and Barbara Klemm as well as Hubertus von Amelunxen. In their jury statement they write, “A form of photography that is closely wedded to life and made with care and humour. This is the art of Joanna Piotrowska.”

The Ellen Auerbach Fellowship for Photography, which is endowed with 20,000 euros, is financed by the estate of German American photographer Ellen Auerbach (1906–2004) and is awarded every two years. Auerbach’s estate is held in the Akademie der Künste. In recent years the recipients of the Ellen Auerbach Fellowship have been Ferhat Bouda (2020), Annette Frick (2018), Stephanie Kiwitt (2016) and Julian Röder (2014). The Ellen Auerbach fellows are members of the JUNGE AKADEMIE fellows’ circle.

Event details
Presentation of Ellen Auerbach Fellowship for Photography 2023 to Joanna Piotrowska
Thursday, 9. March 2023, 7 pm, free admission
Akademie der Künste, Pariser Platz 4, 10117 Berlin
Welcome address: Kathrin Röggla, Vice President of the Akademie der Künste; Encomium: Hubertus von Amelunxen; Discussion: Juliane Bischoff with the recipient of the award, plus vocals and electronic music by Baal & Mortimer

See press release from 26 January 2023