2016 Berlin Art Prize. Jubilee Endowment 1848/1948

Award Ceremony

In keeping with the rotation of the Akademie der Künste’s six sections, this year the Grand Prize (Berlin Art Prize) will be awarded in the section Performing Arts and will go to Frank Castorf, to honour both his artistic achievements as a director and his impact as the artistic director of the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz in Berlin since 1992. Other Berlin Art Prize winners this year include the photo and conceptual artist Sven Johne in the section Visual Arts; the architectural firm OFFICE, established in Brussels by Kersten Geers/David Van Severen in 2002, in Architecture; the Belgian composer Stefan Prins in Music; the writer Angelika Meier in Literature; the opera singer Anna Prohaska in the Performing Arts; and the sound engineer Peter Avar in Film and Media Arts.

The Kunstpreis Berlin was established by the municipal authorities in 1948 in remembrance of the March Revolution of 1848. The prizes are awarded through the Governing Mayor of Berlin, Michael Müller, and the President of the Akademie der Künste, Jeanine Meerapfel.

Friday, 18 Mar 2016

8 pm

Pariser Platz

Plenary Hall

Award Ceremony for Frank Castorf et al. by Jeanine Meerapfel and Michael Müller. Participants: Ute Eskildsen, Boris Schade-Bünsow, Björn Gottstein, Enno Poppe, Monika Rinck, Christian Gerhaher, Hermann Bohlen und Sophie Rois. Moderation: Ulrich Matthes.
Free admission
In German and English language