Gabriele Münter Prize 2017

Award Ceremony and Exhibition Opening

The GABRIELE MÜNTER PRIZE, now presented for the 7th time, is awarded by the Federal Ministry for Women (BMFSFJ), the BKK, the GEDOK and the Frauenmuseum in Bonn. “This prize,” noted Federal Minister Manuela Schwesig, “honours outstanding women artists who, just like women in other areas, still find it significantly harder for their work – quite literally – to be seen.” At the exhibition opening, Manuela Schwesig will be presenting the prize to Beate Passow. In their decision, the jury praised Passow’s socio-critical oeuvre: “She never commits herself to an iconographic programme. Employing a variety of artistic techniques, she uses her gaze and her camera to critique questionable systems of government, the excessive economisation of the individual, and increasing surveillance in society.”

The exhibition is showing works by Beate Passow, Franca Bartholomäi, Tremezza von Brentano, Nezaket Ekici, Mane Hellenthal, Margareta Hesse, Verena Kyselka, Ute Lindner, Anja Luithle, Alice Musiol, Eva von Platen-Hallermund, Sibylle Prange, Vera Röhm, Christine Rusche, Heike Ruschmeyer, Corinna Schnitt, Uta Schotten, Rose Stach, Melanie Wiora, Uta Zaumseil and Gabriele Münter as well as Akademie members and GMP winners 1997/2004 VALIE EXPORT and Ulrike Rosenbach.

Tuesday, 14 Mar 2017

Award ceremony for Beate Passow and exhibition opening

Free admission

In German language