Berlin Art Prize 2020
Jubilee Endowment 1848/1948

Award Ceremony

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, the award ceremony has been canceled.

Following the rotation of the six Akademie sections, the Berlin Art Prize – Grand Prize 2020 is being awarded by the Music Section and goes to the South Korean composer Younghi Pagh-Paan. Her life’s work will be honoured. Younghi Pagh-Paan gained international recognition at the Donaueschinger Musiktage in 1980 with her orchestral piece Sori. At the Hochschule für Künste Bremen, she founded and directed “Atelier Neue Musik” as professor of composition until 2011.

The remaining Berlin Art Prizes go to American painter David Schutter (Visual Arts), the magazine ARCH+ (Architecture), Danish composer Christian Winther Christensen (Music), writer Norbert Zähringer (Literature), playwright Sasha Marianna Salzmann (Performing Arts) and Austrian cinematographer Christine Anna Maier (Film and Media Art). The Berlin Art Prize was established in 1948 by the city administration to commemorate the March Revolution of 1848.

The prizes will be presented by the Senator for Culture Klaus Lederer and Akademie President Jeanine Meerapfel.

19 Mar, 7 pm: event with ARCH+, prizewinner of the Architecture Section 

26 Mar, 8 pm: concert with Younghi Pagh-Paan at MaerzMusik / Berliner Festspiele

Wednesday, 18 Mar 2020

7 pm

Pariser Platz

Plenary Hall

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, the event has been cancelled.