The Archives of Akademie der Künste

The Archives of the Akademie der Künste are home to some 1,200 artists’ archives, including numerous archives of Akademie members. As is the case with the Akademie itself, the archives comprise all of the arts. Every single position is allocated to one of six archive departments: Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts, Film and Media Art. To this are added the Historical Archives (the institutional archives of the Akademie), the Art Collection, and the Library. In addition, the Archives also run the Brecht-Weigel Museum and Anna Seghers Museum.

The Archives' most urgent task is the preservation, expansion, and public exposure of its holdings. The archives present their valuable collections in exhibitions, publications, and events. The Archives collections as well as the Brecht-Weigel and Anna Seghers Museums are accessible to the interested public.
The Archives are supported and advised by an Archive Council and headed by a director, who – together with the Administrative Director and the Programme Officer – comprise the three members of the Management Executive of the Akademie.

The archives are situated at the following locations: Robert-Koch-Platz, Pariser Platz, Luisenstraße and Chausseestraße; the Archives' administration is based at Robert-Koch-Platz.

The Archives of the Akademie der Künste