Berlin Art Prize – Jubilee Foundation 1848/1948 Grand Prize awarded to Simone Fattal

Award Ceremony

Following the rotation of the six sections of the Akademie der Künste, this year the Grand Art Prize will be awarded in the Visual Arts Section to Damascus-born artist Simone Fattal.

The other six art prizes go to Kurdish-born artist Leyla Yenirce (Visual Arts), the architect duo SUMMACUMFEMMER (Architecture), composer and musician Syrphe/Cedrik Fermont (Music), author Carolin Callies (Literature), theatre and film actor Lilith Stangenberg (Performing Arts) and Georgian documentary filmmaker Salomé Jashi (Film and Media Arts).

The Akademie der Künste will also be awarding the Will Grohmann Prize 2023 to the Syrian-German performance and video artist Enad Marouf as part of this event.

The Berlin Art Prize was established in 1948 by the city’s magistrate to commemorate the March Revolution of 1848. The prizes will be presented by Sarah Wedl-Wilson, Permanent Secretary for Culture, and Jeanine Meerapfel, President of the Akademie der Künste.

Moderation: Karin Sander

Laudatory address (via video): Wolfgang Tillmans

Monday, 18 Mar 2024

7 pm

Pariser Platz

Plenary Hall

With Sarah Wedl-Wilson, Jeanine Meerapfel, Monica Bonvicini and the award winners Simone Fattal, Carolin Callies, Salomé Jashi, Enad Marouf, Lilith Stangenberg, SUMMACUMFEMMER, Syrphe / Cedrik Fermont, Leyla Yenirce

Moderation: Karin Sander

Laudatory address (via video): Wolfgang Tillmans

In German and English

Free admission